Year End Awards For Traditional (Classical) Dressage

031917 0306 WDCTA

For information on Western Dressage Awards, please click here


Traditional dressage awards program:

WDCTA offers great year-end ribbons & awards for competitors.

Scores are earned during the competition year starting in December from USEF/USDF recognized dressage shows or WDCTA recognized schooling shows.


Submitted scores must be RECEIVED by November 30 or earlier - NO EXCEPTIONS

Awards are given for three separate categories:

  • Open, Adult Amateurs and Junior/Young Rider Categories for all Levels, Introductory through Grand Prix
  • Freestyle Awards, USDF (Training - Fourth combined) & FEI (Intermediare I & Grand Prix combined)

Registration and Eligibility:

  • The rider and owner of the horse must be members in good standing of WDCTA at the time scores are obtained.
  • For in-hand classes, the handler does not need to be a WDCTA member, nor is it necessary to have the same handler for each class in order to qualify for year-end awards.
  • A horse and rider combination may win an award or championship at any given level more than once.  For In-hand Sport Horse Awards, Mature Horse (Mare/Stallion) may win more than once.
  • Championship registration for each horse and rider combination must be postmarked at least 7 days prior to the first show from which they plan to submit scores.
  • A fee of $25.00 ($26.00 if paid online via Paypal) for each level must be paid for each horse and rider combination to be eligible for championships.  If the horse/rider combination competes in more than one rider division, an additional fee of $25.00 (or $26, as noted above) for each level must be paid.
  • The recorder/Awards chair must be notified in writing and fees paid if adding a level or division later in the year.
  • All registrations are for the show year December 1 through November 30.
  • Please see the Forms page for additional requirements.

For full rules and the WDCTA Year End Award submission form, see the Forms page.